Friday, June 24, 2011

16 Lovers Lane: Don't Try To Push Me EP

16 Lovers Lane are a band from Verona, Italy. “Don’t try to push me” is their first release. Their name is an obvious homage to the Go-Betweens' sixth album with the same title. If my followers or others bloggers who like this blog feel like posting about this EP, I would appreciate it a lot.

I have to say that I'm fond of this EP and I'm close to the people who made it, so I'll just stop here. But I really would like you all to tell me what you think about it. Or just contact them via myspace or facebook.

For more info, see here @ Clinical Archives.

You can listen to the whole EP here:

Don't Try To Push Me EP

Tuesday, June 21, 2011

The Go-Betweens: Live in Brisbane 1986

It's been very long since the last time I posted some "new" Gobs' bootleg, and this one really had to be uploaded, being from one of their most interesting periods (their shift from a 4 piece combo to a 5 piece, with Amanda Brown on violin and oboe duty mostly) and sounding simply great.
The tracklist is amazing, with some pearls too: some very good backing vocals by McLennan on Don't let him come back (this could be its best live performance ever, imo), a good rock-sounding Head full of steam, a beautiful (and quite rare) version of Twin layers of lightning, an edgy rendition of That way, and an extra funny People say.
About the recording: this comes from a soundboard, hence the very good quality (there's only a light hiss in the background).
PS Check out these Gob's posters I've found surfing the web.

(Picture taken from the Go-Betweens' Songbook)


1. In The Core Of A Flame
2. Head Full Of Steam
3. Right Here
4. One Thing Can Hold Us
5. Don't Let Him Come Back
6. Bachelor Kisses
7. Twin Layers Of Lightning
8. Bye Bye Pride
9. Five Words
10. That Way
11. The House That Jack Kerouac Built
12. To Reach Me
13. Palm Sunday
14. Spring Rain
15. Apology Accepted
16. Cattle & Cane
17. People Say

Brisbane 1986

Monday, June 13, 2011

Bon Iver: Full album in streaming

You can listen to the the whole new Bon Iver album in streaming @ NPR's First Listen.

Saturday, June 11, 2011

The Go-Betweens: Ep's and Singles (REPOST)

These are the Go-Betweens' B-Sides to their 2000-years Singles (and the Worlds Apart EP), a quite hard to find treasure. Plus the 7'' edit to Finding You and, as some kind of bonus track, a Suicide At Home live in Munich in 1999.

PS And by the way: Girl lying on a beach is one my favourite Forster's songs ever.


01 Finding you (7" version)
02 Instant replay
03 The city of lights
04 Sleeping giant
05 The locust girls
06 Crystal shacks
07 Erotic sunshine
08 Woman across the way
09 Stone
10 Girl lying on a beach
11 Suicide at home (The BR 2 Session, live 1999)

Ep's and Singles

Thursday, June 09, 2011

Taiga Blues: Neuanfang

This an album from a scottish duo released by Cakes & Takes Label:but not your average kind of quiet folky duo, not at all. They are in fact an eletric band, playing with many influences, mostly 70's stuff (above all, and my favourite one: Krautrock), and they are a very joyous and groovy band.

Download for free/Buy it here